Hit and Run in Alabama
A finalist in the most recent Miss Alabama beauty pageant was arrested in February for allegedly running over two students at the University of Alabama with her car and leaving the scene of the accident. Stormie Henderson, 22, was involved in the hit and run in Tuscaloosa in November, leaving both victims in serious condition. She has been indicted by a grand jury and could face serious jail time.
What are your legal obligations?
Under Alabama law, if your car is involved in a motor accident which causes death or injury or damages a vehicle, you are obligated to:
- Stop your vehicle at or near the scene of the accident and remain there until you have carried out your other obligations.
- Provide your name, address, vehicle registration and driver’s license to the person injured or whose car was damaged.
- Provide reasonable assistance to the injured person, including helping him or her get to a hospital for medical treatment.
- Find the owner of the unattended vehicle(s) you damaged and provide your name and address, or leave a note.
- If the accident led to a death or injury, you must immediately notify the police when within an urban setting, or the sheriff’s office or highway patrol in other areas.
What are the penalties for failing to stop?
If you are convicted for failing to stop at the scene of an accident in which you damaged an unattended vehicle, your driver’s license will be revoked and you will face up to one year in jail and a possible fine of up to $6,000. If the accident you cause leads to death or injury, you face between one and 10 years in jail as well as a fine of up to $15,000. There is no statute of limitations for failing to stop after an accident which caused death or injury.
If you have been involved in a hit and run auto accident, get in touch with an experienced Alabama auto accident attorney to help you understand your legal position.